Know About The Nevada DMV Point System

In order to keep track of the driving history of Nevada residents and evaluate drivers for accident risk, the Nevada DMV has a demerit point system. Whenever you are convicted of a traffic offense, a certain number of points are added to your record. If you acquire too many points, you may get your license suspended.

Point Scale

The number of points you receive depends upon the severity of the conviction. Here are the most common violations that Nevada drivers encounter.

1-Point Violation
  • Travelling up to 10 MPH over the limit
2-Point Violations
  • Travelling up to 20 MPH over the limit
  • Driving too slowly
3-Point Violations
  • Travelling up to 30 MPH over the limit
4-Point Violations
  • Travelling up to 40 MPH over the limit
  • Tailgating
  • Failure to yield
  • Running a red light

If one of these violations is committed while the driver is operating a commercial vehicle, it might lead to even more points.

The Penalties

An automatic 6-month suspension is issued if any driver accumulates 12 points in a 1-year period. After you receive notification of suspension, you will be given an opportunity to appeal. Your auto insurance rates will also increase each time that you are convicted of a traffic offense. However, it is possible to remove points from your record simply by taking a Nevada traffic school.

High Insurance Rates

It’s important to note that taking a Nevada traffic school for point reduction doesn’t remove a traffic violation from your driver record. Traffic violations stay on your record for 3 years. During this period, your insurance rates might be adversely affected.

Traffic Safety School

By taking a Nevada traffic school, you can deduct 3 points from your record. You also may also be assigned to take a driver safety school course by a Nevada traffic court. If you complete the course in order to fulfill a court requirement no points will be Awarded.

It’s important not to take the traffic school course immediately after you are convicted of the traffic violation. Completion of the course will only count towards deleting points if the points have actually been recorded.

You are only allowed to complete the course for point reduction once every 12 months.

Check Your Driver’s License Status

Any resident of Nevada is entitled to check the status of their license through their driver record report. This report will indicate whether your license is revoked or suspended and will show any points you may have received.

Reinstating a Suspended License

If you acquire the maximum allowable amount of demerit points and your license is consequently suspended, you will receive notification of the suspension from the Nevada DMV. If you wish to contest the suspension, you will have an opportunity to do so by first completing a hearing request form. Please note that notice of your suspension will be sent to all 50 states, and you will not be able to drive in any other state until you resolve your suspension in Nevada.

Register OnlineCourse Details